My ballot arrived!

Finally. But it was one day late- November 5th. Luckily there is an ‘emergency service’ available for these situations and last week I called and explained that my ballot must have gotten lost in the mail. They e-mailed me a copy which was faxed back just in time.

Meanwhile, we have a new president! This is a happy moment, not just for the U.S. but for almost every other country in the world. Living abroad during this campaign and election cycle has given me some insight into how much the rest of the world watches our footsteps and is invested in and affected by U.S. policy. When some of my Portuguese friends jokingly asked me (with a tinge of envy)…’ah, can I vote with you?’ you realize how hungry the rest of the world is for a strong, positive, and intelligent leader. Everyone I am surrounded by followed the campaign, had an opinion, and usually knew more about what was going on than I did. Americans have no idea of the extent to which their influence reaches.

Congratulations Obama!

~ by maureenmoore on November 6, 2008.

One Response to “My ballot arrived!”

  1. Yeah! I’m so glad your vote DID count —Democracy in action.
    I’m so looking forward to the future. I like the Lisboa perspective of U.S. We really are a global community, no? Love, Auntie

Leave a Reply

 
