Ready, set …MOVE!

I am happy to share that after submitting 40+ resumes and engaging in 23 informational interviews …I have secured a job!  Those stats come from my job journal- an archive of the six-month search, detailing the ongoing spiral of connections, notes about my career goals and aspirations, and a place to keep tabs on my efforts. My final reward of not just a job, but a position in an organization that aligns with so much of what I have been searching for, is attributed to my sustained effort along with the help and support of my amazing community of friends and newfound professional acquaintances.  All of that is the backbone for what then boiled down to that magical factor of timing. I unknowingly connected with the right people at the right moment when an opportunity was ripe for precisely my presence, and the forces that be aligned us all in harmony!  As I write this, I realize that I happened to visit the building where I will soon be working, L.A.’s Central Library, on three separate occasions during the past six months -more than I had ever visited before. Telling, perhaps? The Los Angeles Central Library provided me with a public bathroom on a weekend day downtown, invited me in for an exhibition tour of Richard Neutra’s architectural drawings, provided a beautiful patio to sit at with a friend, and entertained my curiosity over what type of European Portuguese books they had on hand, only to be humbled that the library had just about every language in print.  Clearly I just scratched the surface of what this amazing institution provides.  Next time I’ll have to actually check out a book!  In the meantime, take a look at the program that I will be helping coordinate, ALOUD.

I am very grateful for all of your thoughts and support along the way and look forward to sharing more about my new job and living situation in L.A. as it unfolds.   This weekend I will be moving into an apartment in my old neighborhood of Silver Lake and will wake up Monday morning to my first day of work!

*above picture courtesy of the LA Fire Department Historical Society

~ by maureenmoore on April 15, 2010.

One Response to “Ready, set …MOVE!”

  1. Congratulations, Mosey! Your income search has inspired me to begin anew with my own, especially as you secured a spot in my “temple” — the library! Looking forward to reading about this next chapter of yours. Again, congratulations. Love, Zia TFJ

Leave a Reply

 
