Week 1

It was the close of my first week of work: day four , event number three (Friday was a furlough), and I was (working) standing at the back of a non-descript theatre in Little Tokyo, lights drawn, with the spotlight on Natalie Merchant awing the 800-person crowd with her ‘secular, humanist pop music’ as she called it.  She was coating the words of children’s poems written by early 20th century poets with her suave, enchanting voice, and draping them in the harmonies of the cello and guitar of her 3-piece band. Thursday’s Natalie Merchant performance was a first for ALOUD– combining a concert with a bit of literary lyricism.  It was beautiful and I was there with my colleagues-a group of wonderfully warm people from the Library Foundation.   I was humbled by the depth of artistic, witty, and delightful people that surrounded me this past week. The concert was a magical ending to quite a week of firsts.  I have so much intellectual income coming my way.   A true blessing.

~ by maureenmoore on April 25, 2010.

One Response to “Week 1”

  1. I saw her on TED–looked great! What a treat.

Leave a Reply

 
