Showing up

The weeks are flying by, time running with me.  One flows into the next, but not without its own distinct and memorable identity.  My time reference has now become relative to who passes through my world each week.  Last week it was Isabel Allende and Father Gregory Boyle of Homeboy Industries.  Tonight I might just meet Stephen King, the honoree at our annual fundraising gala.  I’m grateful that these experiences expose me to such a wide range of thoughts and ways of being, that they give me a moment to reflect on other realities far from the ones I am accustomed to.  One thing that consistently touches me is the hard working, persevering spirit I see in our guests- the writers.  For a craft so seemingly unstructured, open-ended, without an overseer or time card to punch in, it requires an enduring, passionate strength and self-discipline to commit to the page and to honor the thoughts that yearn to be written.   It’s about showing up, being present for yourself and your talents and giving them the space to develop.  Writers or non-writers, we all have unique talents to honor, to exercise, and to share with the world.  I admire those who do.

~ by maureenmoore on May 19, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
