Hazy homecoming and creative musings

I’m floating in that deliciously nebulous zone of the duo world where adrenaline and fatigue mesh together in a nondescriptness that confuses time zones, languages, and sense of direction. I haven’t quite stepped out of the last world and re-entered the current. The piquant taste of chile lingers on my lips, the scent of burnt corn husks floats in the air, and the image of the volcano Popocatépetl is a silhouette on the horizon and delights my groggy eyes at today’s 6 am wake-up call.

I’ve returned from a fulfilling and exhilarating week in Mexico and landed just in time to catch an equally exhilarating talk at the library by Jonah Lehrer. His insights in his newest book, “Imagine: How Creativity Works,” a study on creativity and the brain, lured me into the office the very same day I returned back from my international journey. Jonah touched on how relaxation encourages creativity, how epiphanies often come when we aren’t concentrating on problems or tasks, and that thinking along the margins, outside of the box, all spur creative thoughts. For some that means a walk, a hot bath, maybe dancing or a riveting game of ping pong.

Heeding to the hammock: rest and relaxation on the shores of the Oaxacan coast

 Jonah shared that daydreamers score higher on creativity tests, and that ‘intentional flexibility’ is a key to success. He also referenced a study where intoxicated college students scored 30% higher on creativity tests than their sober counterparts! The same outcome was achieved when sober test takers were given tests very early in the morning just after having woken up- when the mind is hanging somewhere between dream land and conscious reality, where edges are blurry and thoughts are hazy. The explanation lies with inhibition and freedom, and playing within the moments where there is a lack of intense concentration. Jonah can explain much of the above better than I can, but tonight’s talk served as the perfect homecoming. An affirmation that all of my wanderings add up to color and creativity.

Nopales city: cactus towers powered by green energy

From the adrenaline rush of our 13-seater Cessna plane ride over the Sierra Madre to the coast of Oaxaca to the ‘spiritual clearing’ conducted by a Zapotec healer in the hills of the highlands, and the tongue-twisting gymnastics of pronouncing tlayudas and tlacolula, there is many an adventure to be shared from my fantastical ride in the land of ingenious entrepreneurism and resourcefully creative solutions. Photolog to come…

Hanging ideas: the book stacks at the Biblioteca (Library) Vasconcellos, Mexico City

Juice me!  Mobile all-in-one juice marts

Beginning or end?

~ by maureenmoore on April 3, 2012.

8 Responses to “Hazy homecoming and creative musings”

  1. Everything is a beginning for you; I see no end. 🙂
    Bienvenido de nuevo a su base de operaciones de la creatividad!

  2. Beautiful writing and so glad to hear you were able to get away to Mexico – makes me happy to think of you there.

  3. Fantastic photos representing the vibrant colors in all things Mexico! Would like to see more. I especially enjoyed the “beginning or end” question to the last photo. Have you decided? ~amj

  4. Thanks for spending the morning with my cappuccino and myself. Good-bye for now! I am grateful that i am not caught up on your journey yet; it makes me feel wealthy with unread Maureen insight in my inbox! Sending Love your way woman! cheers on life

  5. Thanks Miss Kelly, I’m always game for spending a morning with you and un café. Am picturing you now…in the foggy morning light of NorCal, embarking upon a day of unpainted canvases. Exhilarating! Thanks for reading. xo

Leave a Reply

 
