A New Dawn

It’s barely 7am and I’m wandering through the riverside neighborhood of Karaköy. Whether it was the 5am call to prayer,  jet lag, or the adrenaline of being in this megapolis, something gave me a wake up call while the rest of the house slumbered. I pack my film camera in my bag and begin exploring the city and  find calm, quiet streets, yet not without life. The seagulls gawk and ferries ripple the waters of the Bosphorus.  Men and an occasional woman cast their fishing lines along the edge. Older men sit at outside cafes sipping Turkish çay-black tea- in delicate glass cups. I step into this bakery and point to one of the baked goods in the window and mutter  “one please,” in a shy voice attempting to exercise my few Turkish vocab words.  The lady smiles and hands me the crispy circular-like cracker in exchange for 50 cents.  I quickly motion an inquiry about taking a photo.  She obliges and tries to leave the frame, not realizing she was the very one I wanted to capture.

Day 3 of 30; Postcards from Turkey 

~ by maureenmoore on July 11, 2013.

2 Responses to “A New Dawn”

  1. Absolutely love this picture and your words about Turkey. Safe and happy travels! -Jo

Leave a Reply

 
