Walking the Bizarre

The edges become blurry as I try to keep my eye on our group. Nick is taller than the rest, and navigates the old city with ease, and speed.   It’s  Monday afternoon and I am mesmerized by the amount of people who inhabit the street-aren’t they working? This IS work.  I snake and slide my way through the bodies, looking for empty pockets of space to move through, with intention of not losing my friends.  Istanbul is like L.A. in terms of traffic, but in addition to cars, the human traffic is what gives this place life.  It pulses at all hours. We climb up and down underground staircases and passageways, crossing from one  landmass–old city Sultanahmet–to the other, slightly less touristy Beyoğlu.  The Golden Horn, an inlet of the Bosphorus, separates these two European-side sections of the city.  The tourists tend to flock to Sultanahmet, and for good reason with its Grand Bazaar, Blue Mosque, and Aya Sofya. I think I found mom some gold plated moonstone earrings today at the bazaar, but I want to survey the rest of what this city has to offer before committing. I tell the jewelry man I’ll be back, and then I become just another body lost in Monday’s crowd.

Day 4 of 30; Postcards from Turkey

~ by maureenmoore on July 12, 2013.

2 Responses to “Walking the Bizarre”

  1. Love your use of the synonym for the title! Thanks for your insightful daily peek into this world.

Leave a Reply

 
