Tea with Strangers

He: casual cool, cigarette in hand, crisp, clean All-Stars on his feet. She: light and pretty, with pause and patience. She stirs a cube of sugar into the cup and waits for it to cool before bringing the thin glass to her lips. I can’t hear them but they chat, intermittently, between drags and sips. They keep it light; maybe they’re old friends, or lovers. Perhaps he’s even her  brother. They offer me no cues; I can only guess.

And the others. I notice their New Balance first. They both have a pair. They seem to go together-dark clothing, a fixed stare. They’re drinking lemonade and chat, too. I can’t hear them, but they do.

If they look back they’ll see me too, and maybe wonder about the coffee and tea I have sitting in front of me. I didn’t want to settle for that cup of overly-roasted joe, even be it from the famed cafe Fazıl Bey. I order a tea, and just like the girl, wait for it to cool. These signature curvacious glass cups must have been designed to make you linger. They remain so hot to the touch they are hard to finger.

I snap the photo and I look at it again now. It brings me back to that moment of wonder: who are the people behind these faces? What it is about this photo I can’t really say. Something about it is so common, it could be anywhere. Yet I’m pulled in by intrigue and have framed this scene for some reason.  All I know is that these characters are actors in two different movies. As for the rest of the script, I can only imagine.

Day 14 of 30: Postcards from Turkey

~ by maureenmoore on July 22, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
