Arabian Ride

The name Cappadocia dates to Persian times, when the region was called “katpatukya” meaning “land of beautiful horses.” Today, a man named Ekram helps continue that tradition, tending to wild horses and taming them with his gentle soul, cucumbers and carrots, and natural medicine. Dubbed “the horse whisperer,” I’d actually read about him even before stepping foot in the country. I wanted to meet Ekram and ride his horses.

We’d barely arrived in Cappadocia and were watching the setting sun when a man approached my friend and struck up a conversation. He was a native of the town but had spent over a decade living in San Francisco as a small business owner. His English was impeccable and among other bits of information he proudly shared about his town, I learned that he was the one who delivered American horse products to the horse whisperer.

Days later I found myself on one of Ekram’s horses, bounding up and down rolling hills, weaving my way into Rose Valley. My guide snapped photos with my camera, his faithful pooch following us the entire way (he even made the picture.) The horses snacked on sweet white mulberries straight from the tree while I marveled at the landscape. We slid through narrow pathways in between smooth boulders and conical rocks, ascended hills for panorama vistas, and rested atop a mountain next to a cave church and a make-shift tea tent. We seemed to be in the middle of nowhere. The tea man watched over the cave church in exchange for being able to serve the lone travelers who came through. Who comes here? I couldn’t see another person in sight. The surreal landscape, my view atop a horse, the threat of rain in the distance, and no soul in sight. I felt like I was living in a Western. My body swayed side to side on the back of this beautiful Arabian horse. I had no idea where we were going, what these hills had in store for my horse and I. All I knew is that this nowhere, this somewhere, was exactly where I needed to be.

Day 18 of 30; Postcards from Turkey

~ by maureenmoore on July 26, 2013.

2 Responses to “Arabian Ride”

  1. Even the picture looks surreal. What are the chances that your guide would capture this shot?!
    The details about the wild horses remind me of one of R’s favorite childhood stories and sequence of books about the wild horse named Misty of Chincoteague. Although not a perfect parallel (the horse is Misty!), it makes me want to call you, “Maureen of Cappadocia!”

  2. Your ‘somewheres’ always pan out for you. Even in the photo you are at the apex of the hill able to overlook your somewhere! Love the pic. ~jm

Leave a Reply

 
