Pushing through

Castle lady

It’s almost 7pm and I’m still at my desk at the library trying to leave things in a manageable state for tomorrow. My back is tired from sitting at the computer all day, I’ve only made it halfway through my checklist, haven’t posted on the blog yet, am hungry, still have to run an errand before I head home, and my computer is on its last leg and am faced with the burden of having to buy a new one. I’m doing a pretty good job of stacking up a bunch of petty complaints, and then I see her.

I’ve been staring at her for the past few days now: working the hoe, raking the fields, tending to the vines. I caught this glimpse of her as we were winding through the valley on foot during an afternoon walk. I snuck the shot in fear of her catching me; she was not to be exploited in the photo reel of some traveler’s Turkish journey.

Long after I captured her on film, I kept staring in hopes I’d figure out what I could write about her. I knew nothing about her or the field– of the family that might be waiting for her at home, the elderly parents whom might live with her, the sons and daughters who leave their young children with her.  How the rainfall was affecting this year’s yield, how the political turmoil in Istanbul this week had killed tourism in Goreme and affected the town’s income.

But here she is. Pushing through. None of that matters to her, I’m sure, because there is work to be done. The field relies on her; she has no choice but to show up. It’s day 23 and this project is a gift and a burden. I have to show up.

Looking beyond the field lies a castle on a hill, a castle full of history, conquest, victory, sacrifice. I too step into the frame of a castle every single day- a castle of history, conquest, fantasy and fiction. I just have to show up.

Day 23 of 30; Postcards from Turkey

~ by maureenmoore on July 31, 2013.

2 Responses to “Pushing through”

  1. I’m glad you’ve continued to ‘push through’ on your writing project; your discipline is admirable and I look forward to your daily postcard! ~jm

Leave a Reply

 
